This year marked the tenth anniversary of the first Thomson Park Bowl Jam which each year just keeps growing. Yeah Gnar NZ gave the New Brighton and New Zealand skateboarding communities a worthy celebration.

The weather was perfect and there was a great turn out of skaters of all ages and genders from around the country and Australia There was women’s open, under 16s, masters and men’s open rounded off with a tricks for cash jam.

This year the competition included extra activities for the spectators, including a live graffiti demonstration from UK artist “Just Paint Stuff”, free skateboarding hire and lessons from Cheapskates Skate Skool and a free sausage sizzle. This combined with the high skill level of skating ensures the Thomson Park Bowl Jam will continue to grow in years to come.

As well as the level of skateboarding, a standout feature of the contest was Software development company, Chainstack Ltd’s new integrated competition management system. Thanks to Chainstack there were two 65 inch digital billboards that displayed profiles of the skaters including head shots, their sponsors and scores. This helped the event run smoothly by displaying information for volunteers and spectators. And added a further level of professionalism to the competition. Yeah Gnar will be taking this system on the road this year to competitions around the South Island, so if you have an event you’d would like to use it at, get in touch with them via their website.

As well as receiving sponsors products as prizes the competitors had the option of receiving cash or bitcoin for prizes. Bitcoin has a notable advocate in Tony Hawk – who recently announced he’ll be keynote speaker at the 2020 Bitcoin Conference.


Men’s Open
1st – Niwa Shewry (Taranaki)
2nd – Tom Mitchell (Raglan)
3rd – Dan Kelcher (Christchurch)
4th – Sam Wilson (Wanaka)
5th – Brodie Cahill (Kaiapoi)
6th – Ben Lewis (Christchurch)
7th – Mitch Jordan (Christchurch)

Women’s Open
1st – Krysta Ashwell (Christchurch)
2nd – Holly Reynolds (Christchurch)
3rd – Elizabeth Webb (Christchurch)
4th – Jenna Cathro (Christchurch)
5th – Tegen Demelza (Christchurch)
6th – Naomi Ashwell (Christchurch)
7th – Arnika Rose (Christchurch)

16 and Under
1st – Zedyn Fellows (Wanaka)
2nd – Connor O’Leary (Christchurch)
3rd – Isaiah Godfrey (Christchurch)
4th – Finn Walker (Christchurch)
5th – Max Gardner-Deeming (Christchurch)
6th – Jake Harris (Christchurch)
7th – Felix Griffin (Palmerston North)

1st – Sean Ritchie (Christchurch)
2nd – Chris Wood (Wellington)
3rd – Von Griffin (Palmerston North)
4th – Hayden McDermott (Auckland)
5th – Raph Doidge (Christchurch)

Grom of the Day
Tobyn Ruifrok (Christchurch)

Blacklisted Belts Best Slam
Tegen Bishop (Christchurch)