Manual Magazine

Zon of the Lines – Rider Lists

Posted by David Read on Friday October 19 2012

We have hand-picked 57 of New Zealand’s finest skateboarders to be part of the first Zon of the Lines Skateboard Invitational series. See below for the list of confirmed riders for the Christchurch, Wellington and Auckland events. There are six spots (2 in each event) yet to be filled. We will be offering these spots out in a Wildcard Callout – for more info click here.

Confirmed Skaters for the Zon of the Lines Skateboard Invitational

Christchurch, 3 Nov, 2012, Northlands Mall, Papanui
1. James Kingston
2. Andrew Pope
3. Ollie Wilson
4. Jack Woodrow
5. Kurt Green
6. Dan Yeoward
7. Ben McConnell
8. Hootie Andrewes
9. PJ Wybrow
10. Ed ‘Swampy’ Frampton
11. Tom Clark
12. Zak Gray
13. Cade Wilson-Russ
14. Joel Keogh-Kope
15. Dylan Reese
16. Chunks Norton
17. Niwa Warner
18. Leighton Kemp
19. Wildcard – Ashley Low
20. Wildcard – Damian Thomson

For photos and a full wrap up of the Christchurch event visit here. Video coverage can be found here.

Wellington, 17 Nov, 2012, Odlins Plaza (The Brewery), Wellington Waterfront
1. George Rowe
2. Matt Hosey
3. Amiel Day
4. Fred Shallcrass
5. Joseph Whaanga
6. Digby Luxton
7. Gus Curwood
8. James Huntley
9. Jesse Abolins
10. Adam Kinsman
11. AJ O’Brien
12. Diego Casal
13. Ben Evans
14. Chris Wood
15. Simon Prakash
16. Brynn Durham
17. Jason Gallant
18. Pedro Day
19. Kevin Francis
20. Luke Browne
21. Wildcard – Adrian Vercoe
22. Wildcard – Darren Beach
23. Wildcard – Sean Cupples
24. Wildcard – Mohi Paul
25. Wildcard – Maluai Palakua

For photos and a full wrap up of the Wellington event visit here.

Auckland, 1 December, 2012,  Shed 15, 90 Wellesley Street, Auckland
1. Mike Bancroft
2. Christian Low
3. Deen Rakich
4. Nick Lister
5. Scott Lai
6. Mitchell McCarthy
7. Shaun Boucher
8. Chase Collins
9. Liam Campbell
10. Flynn Gough
11. Reuben Baker
12. Toby Locke
13. Cam King
14. Umberto Skinner
15. Nico Gottschalk
16. Adam Wharekawa
17. Brett Band
18. Jarrad Carlin
19. Nick Mitchell
20. Chad Hope
21. Joseph Whaanga
22. Christchurch Winner – James Kingston
23. Wellington Winner – Pedro Day
24. Wildcard – Brian Haycock
25. Wildcard – Ben Morice

See below for more info on the Zon of the Lines Skateboard Invitational series.

Zon of the Lines is coming to a city near you

Amazon, with the support of Mountain Dew, Vans and Plan B is proud to bring the Zon of the Lines Skateboard Invitational Series to Christchurch, Wellington and Auckland.

A custom made course has been crafted especially for the series featuring street-inspired obstacles such as a picnic table, flat bar and a wheel chair ramp. The set-up will be dropped at iconic locations in Christchurch, Wellington and Auckland where heavyweight line-ups will battle for their slice of a massive $10,000 prize pool.

20 of each region’s finest skateboarders will be handpicked to skate the course in Christchurch and Wellington, with two places in each event being held for wildcard entries.

The Auckland event will see 21 of Auckland’s best shredders, the winners of the Christchurch and Wellington events, along with two more wildcard entrants go head to head for cash and prizes in grand final.

Watch the teaser clip shot with Zon team riders Deen Rakich and Nick Lister, Christian Low and Mountain Dew team rider Brett Band. It shows the custom built set-up complete with a flat bar, manual/grind box, wedge to picnic table and wheel chair ramp.

Stay tuned for more info on the course and rider line-ups.

For rider registration and info please contact David Read on email or 021473403

For all other event info please contact Keone Campbell at Billabong NZ on email or 094145106 ex 7179

What: Zon of the Lines Skateboard Invitational Series, proudly supported by Amazon, Mountain Dew, Vans and Plan B

Featuring: New Zealand’s best skateboarders

When and when:
Christchurch – 1-5PM, 3 November, Rooftop, Northlands Mall, 55 Main North Road, Papanui, Christchurch
Wellington – 1-5PM, 17 November, Odlins Plaza, Jervois Road, Wellington Waterfront (‘Brewery’ spot)
Auckland – 1-5PM, Shed 12, 90 Wellesley Street, Auckland

Competition format:
– Five skaters per heat, 10 lines each per heat
– The five best scores/lines from each skater will count towards their overall score for each heat
– Ten skaters will advance from prelims to semi-finals
– The top five skaters from each of the semi-finals will advance to the finals